Council agrees upgrades for historic Stortford pub and Grade II-listed home
Two historic buildings in the heart of Bishop's Stortford are being adapted for the 21st century.
East Herts Council has approved applications for internal redecoration and new flooring at the Half Moon pub in North Street and for changes at a house in Windhill which was the birthplace of Sir Walter Gilbey.
From 1818, The Links was owned by his father Henry, who ran a stagecoach business and was also an innkeeper. His sixth-born child founded the iconic Gilbey’s Gin brand and was a town philanthropist.
The Royal Commission on Historical Monuments estimates the original, Grade II building could date back to the 15th century. The current owners want to replace a much later bay window facing the garden, alter a doorway to become a ground-floor window and render brickwork. The works would not affect the original timber-framed structure.
At the 17th century Half Moon, the new owners, award-winning St Albans pub and music venue, the Horn, want to have been given permission to revamp the male and female toilets – with new tile floors, sand the floors in the public bar areas, tile the snug and put new matting in the main entrance lobbies. New timber flooring will be installed in the function room at the rear.
The management told East Herts: “The proposals will replace these finishes with new, more durable and hard wearing surfaces that will bring a more modern and contemporary feel to the place.”