Home   News   Article

Hertfordshire council leaders unite to back Black Lives Matter movement in anti-racism statement

The leader of East Herts Council has added her voice to a county-wide message of support for Black Lives Matter.

Cllr Linda Haysey is one of 11 council leaders who, with Hertfordshire Police and Crime Commissioner David Lloyd, issued a statement on Friday (June 12) as the county prepared for further anti-racism protests.

The cross-party group said: "Hertfordshire stands united against every form of discrimination, racism and injustice. The killing of George Floyd in Minneapolis has reminded us once again that we cannot and should not tolerate racism in any form or from any person.

Cllr Linda Haysey, Conservative leader of East Herts Council
Cllr Linda Haysey, Conservative leader of East Herts Council

"There are still many injustices to overcome, but as leaders in our communities, we have an important role to play in challenging inequality.

"We will work with our communities to bring about meaningful change. We don't have all the answers yet, but we are committed to listening and to learning how we can most effectively challenge inequality and stamp out injustice.

"Coronavirus has tested our community, and throughout this challenging period of time we have shown our strength, resilience and support for each other, irrespective of our differences.

"Sadly we are still seeing many coronavirus infections and deaths in this country, and the disproportionate impact of Covid-19 on people who are from BAME (Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic) communities has been deeply worrying.

"We support the right for peaceful protest, but it is vital that we all stay as safe as possible and maintain social distancing to stop the spread of this virus.

"We would also like to thank our local police and other emergency services for the work they have been doing to keep us all safe over a difficult few months.

"Please stay safe, and know that in Hertfordshire we truly believe that Black Lives Matter."

The statement was signed by:

  • Cllr Lewis Cocking, leader of Broxbourne Borough Council
  • Cllr Andrew Williams, leader of Dacorum Borough Council
  • Cllr Linda Haysey, leader of East Herts Council
  • Cllr Morris Bright, leader of Hertsmere Borough Council
  • Cllr Martin Stears-Handscomb, leader of North Herts District Council
  • Cllr Chris White, leader of St Albans City and District Council
  • Cllr Sharon Taylor, leader of Stevenage Borough Council
  • Cllr Sara Bedford, leader of Three Rivers District Council
  • Peter Taylor, elected mayor of Watford
  • Cllr Tony Kingsbury, leader of Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council
  • Cllr David Williams, leader of Hertfordshire County Council
  • David Lloyd, Police and Crime Commissioner for Hertfordshire

More by this author

This website and its associated newspaper are members of the Independent Press Standards Organisation (IPSO)

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More