Home   News   Article

European elections: The 54 candidates for the East of England

European elections take place on May 23 (10609702)
European elections take place on May 23 (10609702)

Voters go to the polls on Thursday (May 23) to elect candidates to represent the East of England in the European Parliament.

The country is taking part in the elections after the UK and European Union agreed an extension to the Brexit process until October 31.

The East of England – Hertfordshire, Essex, Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Suffolk and Norfolk – is one of 12 European electoral regions in the UK.

There are 73 MEPs representing the UK at the European Parliament, seven of whom represent the East of England.

At the 2014 elections, three Conservative MEPs were elected, along with three from UKIP and one from Labour.

How the voting works

Voters have one vote in the elections.

A regional list is put forward by parties competing in the elections; independents can also stand.

You have one vote. You can vote either for one of the party's regional lists or an individual standing as an independent.

The share of the vote received determines the number of MEPs elected from each party, based on a system devised by Belgian lawyer and mathematician Victor D'Hondt in the 19th century.

The party with most votes in the first round of counting wins a seat for the candidate at the top of its list.

In the second round of counting, the winning party's vote is divided by two – plus one for the number of Euro MPs it has. The party now top in the reordered results wins a seat for its leading candidate.

The process continues, with the original vote of the winning party in each round being divided by two plus their running total of MEPs, until all the seats for the region have been taken.

Votes will be verified on the night of the election but counted on Sunday May 26, because other European countries go to the polls at the weekend.

Who is standing in the East of England?

All five major political parties, plus the Brexit Party and Change UK, are fielding the maximum seven candidates, plus an independent candidate is standing. Here they are:


  1. Richard Tice
  2. Michael Heaver
  3. June Mummery
  4. Paul Hearn
  5. Priscilla Huby
  6. Sean Lever
  7. Edmund Fordham


  1. Emma Taylor
  2. Neil Carmichael
  3. Bhavna Joshi
  4. Michelle de Vries
  5. Amanda Gummer
  6. Thomas Graham
  7. Roger Casale


  1. Geoffrey Van Orden
  2. John Flack
  3. Joe Rich
  4. Thomas McLaren
  5. Joel Charles
  6. Wassim Mughal
  7. Thomas Smith


  1. Robin Tilbrook
  2. Charles Vickers
  3. Bridget Vickers
  4. Paul Wiffen


  1. Catherine Rowett
  2. Rupert Read
  3. Martin Schmierer
  4. Fiona Radic
  5. Paul Jeater
  6. Pallavi Devulapalli
  7. Jeremy Lloyd Caddick


  1. Attila Csordas


  1. Alex Mayer
  2. Chris Vince
  3. Sharon Taylor
  4. Alvin Shum
  5. Anna Smith
  6. Adam Scott
  7. Javeria Hussain


  1. Barbara Gibson
  2. Lucy Nethsingha
  3. Fionna Tod
  4. Stephen Robinson
  5. Sandy Walkington
  6. Marie Goldman
  7. Julia Ewart


  1. Stuart Agnew
  2. Paul Oakley
  3. Liz Jones
  4. William Ashpole
  5. Alan Graves Jr
  6. John Wallace
  7. John Whitby

More by this author

This website and its associated newspaper are members of the Independent Press Standards Organisation (IPSO)

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More