Home   News   Article

12 candidates for 4 Stansted seats on Uttlesford District Council – but no parish poll

More news, no ads


Voters in Stansted go to the polls on May 2 to elect their representatives on Uttlesford District Council – but for the first time in decades there will be no parish council election.

Alan Dean, who hopes to retain his Stansted North seat on UDC, described it as “a very sad state of affairs” that there was not the requisite number of people to fill the 15 seats.

“As far as I know, since I joined in 1983-84, this has never happened before,” he said.

Six current parish councillors are stepping down, and although five new members are joining, there remain two vacant seats because one councillor failed to submit their nomination paper in time.

Parish clerk Ruth Clifford said: “There is no election because the number of people nominated isn’t greater than the number of seats available. Certainly that’s the first time since I’ve been here – 28 years – that it has happened.”

There are six candidates for the two seats in each of the village’s two UDC wards: Stansted North and Stansted South & Birchanger.

In Stansted North, sitting Liberal Democrat councillors Alan Dean and Geoffrey Sell face opposition from Conservatives Nick Church and Josie Thompson and Labour candidates Joe Lewis and Alfred Miti.

In Stansted South & Birchanger, Tory duo Terry Farthing and Thom Goddard are not seeking re-election. The Conservative candidates, Gary Davey and Jennie Sutton, line up against Labour’s Daniel Brett and Thomas Van de Bilt, and Lib Dems Melvin Caton and Ayub Khan.

The elections will take place on Thursday May 2. Polling stations will be open from 7am until 10pm.

The 39-seat UDC is currently made up of 24 Conservatives, 10 Residents for Uttlesford (R4U) members and four Lib Dems, with one vacant seat in Saffron Walden.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More