Home   News   Article

Queen's Birthday Honours: The 23 people on the Hertfordshire list

More news, no ads


A total of 23 people from Hertfordshire have been honoured in the Queen's Birthday Honours.

They include Bishop's Stortford broadcaster and political pundit Nick de Bois, who has been made a Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE).

The 63-year-old former MP is best known as a talkRADIO host and political author, but he has been recognised in the Platinum Jubilee list for his services to British tourism.

Angela Khalil, who is listed as living in Bishop's Stortford, is awarded a British Empire Medal (BEM) for voluntary service as patron and lately president of the British Red Cross, Essex. She is formerly chair of the parish council and village hall committee in Manuden.

Other notable Hertfordshire recipients include Call the Midwives, Little Women, Upstairs Downstairs and Cranford screenwriter Heidi Thomas, who lives in Royston, and Nick Carver, chief executive of East and North Herts NHS Trust, which runs the Lister and QEII hospitals in Stevenage and Welwyn Garden City, both of whom receive OBEs.

Dr Clea Harmer, chief executive of baby loss charity Sands, becomes an MBE, as does Verity Naylor, director of operations with the British Paralympic Association. There are also MBEs for a primary school head, a social worker and a cybercrime specialist.

Among the five BEM recipients are Diane George, honoured for services to the community in Buntingford, and Darren McLatchey, of Stevenage, lately a station commander with Herts Fire and Rescue Service, for services to the community during Covid-19.

The Lord-Lieutenant of Hertfordshire, Robert Voss, Her Majesty’s representative in the county, said: “The honours awarded range from Commanders of the Order of the British Empire to Medallists of the Order of the British Empire and demonstrate the diversity of good deeds being done by our residents around the county and beyond.

"In congratulating those honoured, I look forward to meeting them all in person and thanking them on behalf of Her Majesty for what they have done – and continue to do – for the community.”

Commanders of the Order of the British Empire (CBE)

Rodney Berkeley - director, manufacturing energy and infrastructure, Department for International Trade. For services to international trade and to diversity and inclusion. (Hemel Hempstead)

Dr Timothy Coulson - chief executive officer, Unity Schools Partnership, and independent chair, Norwich Opportunity Area. For services to education. (Knebworth)

Geoffrey Nicholas De Bois - chair, VisitEngland Advisory Board. For services to tourism and to the economy. (Bishop's Stortford)

Professor Joanne Elizabeth Martin - director, Blizard Institute, Queen Mary University of London and lately president, Royal College of Pathologists. For services to the NHS and to medical education. (Harpenden)

Henry Thomas Ripley - deputy legal director, Department of Health and Social Care legal advisers, Government legal department. For services to the law. (Berkhamsted)

Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)

Nicholas Robert Carver - chief executive, East and North Hertfordshire NHS Trust. For services to the NHS. (Letchworth Garden City)

Dyan Crowther - chief executive officer, HS1 Ltd. For services to rail transport. (Baldock)

Theocharis Panayiotou Theochari - chair, Maritime UK. For services to the maritime sector. (Hertford)

Heidi-Louise Thomas McGann - screenwriter and playwright. For services to drama. (Royston)

Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

Professor Indranil Chakravorty - chair, British Association of Physicians of Indian Origin Institute for Health Research, and consultant physician, St George's University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. For services to the healthcare sector. (St Albans)

Emma Cox - social worker, Bedfordshire Council. For services to child and family social work and to voluntary work overseas. (Welwyn Garden City)

Simon Essex Cubitt - cybercrime specialist, HM Revenue and Customs. For services to cyber security. (Tring)

Yvonne Jacqueline Davis - lately headteacher, Oak View Primary and Nursery School, Hatfield. For services to education. (Hemel Hempstead)

Dr Clea Elizabeth Harmer - chief executive, Sands. For services to baby loss awareness and to supporting bereaved parents. (Royston)

Christine May - head of libraries in Bradford, West Yorkshire. For services to public libraries. (Stevenage)

Verity Leigh Naylor - director of operations, British Paralympic Association. For services to Paralympic sport. (Ware)

Bharat Patel - for services to the community in Greater London, particularly during Covid-19. (Watford)

Marcia Richards - case lead, local authority analysis and engagement, Education and Skills Funding Agency. For services to education. (Borehamwood)

Medallists of the Order of the British Empire (BEM)

Christine Dadd-Bytyci - NATS and Crossrail international shareholder policy lead, Department for Transport. For services to diversity. (Radlett)

Diane George - for services to the community in Buntingford. (Buntingford)

Angela Rosemary Khalil - patron and lately president, British Red Cross, Essex. For voluntary service. (Bishop's Stortford)

Darren McLatchey - lately station commander, Hertfordshire Fire and Rescue Service. For services to the community in Hertfordshire during Covid-19. (Stevenage)

Vanessa Caroline Rousseau - for services to the community in Chorleywood during Covid-19. (Rickmansworth)

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More