Home   News   Article

Tiger Sharks back in the water in Bishop’s Stortford to raise cash for Cancer Research UK and Marie Curie

The Tiger Sharks swimming team will be back in action this month to raise yet more money for Cancer Research UK and Marie Curie charities.

On Sunday April 28, more than 40 primary school pupils, aged eight to 11, will each swim 1km (about five-eighths of a mile) in the pool at Grange Paddocks Leisure Centre in Bishop’s Stortford.

Last year, the Tiger Sharks were among the top fundraisers for the Swimathon event in the UK, generating the second highest amount – more than £7,000 on JustGiving and over £8,000 in total. This year, they have already raised over £2,300 on JustGiving with a further £1,000 pledged directly to Swimathon.

A previous Tiger Sharks charity swimming team
A previous Tiger Sharks charity swimming team

To further boost the cancer cash, the team is running a raffle with a selection of desirable prizes donated by Down Hall Hotel and Spa in Hatfield Heath, Grange Paddocks Leisure Centre, Bishop’s Cave bar in North Street, Jackson & Smith hair salon in Northgate End, Home & Eat and Wickes in Stansted Road, Nuffield Health in Anchor Street, The Entertainer in Jackson Square, South Mill Arts, Laughing Bishops Comedy Club, CWTCH coffee shop in Little Hadham and many more.

Tickets can be bought from the coffee van in Castle Park and Nationwide in South Street.

Organiser Dave Stenson said: “The JustGiving page can be found by going to JustGiving and searching Tiger Sharks 2024, where you will find our logo. Any donations, big or small, will make a massive difference to this difficult challenge for great causes.” See https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/charlottestenson2023.

The children taking part this year are: Charlotte Stenson, Anabella Mackay, Monty Brocks, Noémie Sibert, Niamh Yeoman, Anya Quail, Alexandra Ionescue, Millie Smith, Georgia Scadding, Lottie Burman, Susie Firrell, Jackson Bramall, Jack Johnson, Luca Tse, Harry Leeks, Kenny Millsom, Cian Millsom, Will Etherington, Penelope Runyan, Theo Towse-Reid, Eden Fullbrook, Sophia Leeks, Julien Sibert, Joe Barrat, Rory Quail, Elizabeth O’Reilly, Charlie Mackay, Ollie Witney, Grace Cosgrove, Tallulah Bedocs-Merry, Annie Crane, Albie Keetley, Rafferty Keetley, Vaishnavi (Vishu) Pawar, Anna Buckley, Alex Campbell, Erin Millsom, Ailbhe Millsom, Dilys Evans, Eira Evans, Beatrice Barrat, James Smith, Jack Gill and William Herniman.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More