Home   Sport   Article

Bishop's Stortford Golf Club's Rebecca Earl makes last 16 of English Women's Amateur Championship

Rebecca Earl reached the last 16 in the English Women's Amateur Championship on her return from the USA.

The Bishop's Stortford Golf Club member was in action at Saunton Golf Club in Devon after a busy year of studying at Wofford College in South Carolina.

Earl, who was named the Southern Conference Freshman of the Year across the Atlantic in April, finished 25th in the strokeplay section.

In very tough conditions - competition scratch score went up to 76 - she shot a 79 and a 76.

She then beat her opponent 3&1 in the last 32 of the matchplay format, before succumbing to the favourite and eventual winner Lily May Humphreys, who plays off +6.

Rebecca Earl
Rebecca Earl

Meanwhile, the Dunmow Road club's Tigers team remain unbeaten in their league competition after registering a decent half away to South Herts.

The result included a fantastic 8&6 victory for one of the Stortford pairings against opponents who had not lost previously.

On home turf, Val Harrison edged past Elaine Cozens to win ladies' major the Robertson Trophy.

Former lady captain Harrison shot a fine four-under-par 69 in the morning, with current captain Cozens one shot behind on 70.

Morag Rossi, who scored 73, was their nearest challenger at that point, but she was unable to better her effort in the afternoon and returned a 78.

Harrison was able to score another 69 and Cozens matched it, meaning the former triumphed by a single shot.

Jackie Foster shot a superb gross 71 (two under par) to move up into third place.

Jill Kerby was victorious when the Saturday ladies played for the Captain's Prize.

She ended with a fine stableford total of 36 points. Dorothy Jeary and Foster were a point behind on 35.

Steve Edwards blew his rivals away in the Summer Order of Merit thanks to a phenomenal score of 51 points.

He shot a gross 74 off his handicap of 18 and is now playing off 14. Runner-up David Ogden had 41, which ordinarily would have been the best score by a couple of shots.

Paul McGahan returned a seven-under-par 64 to take the honours in the May Medal.

Playing off 14, he came back in just 35 shots having had eight more on the front nine. His efforts earned him first place with a five-point advantage over both Simon Mitchelmore and Jack Isherwood.

The Jubilee Cup was lifted by Patrick Seeber and Simon Badocha as they beat Kev Maloy and Dave Brooking on countback. Third place went to Brian Mitchell and Ian Tinsley.

Read more

More by this author

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More