Home   What's On   Article

Enjoy Dogs in Disguise, The Unexpected Tale of Bastien Bonlivre and Kevin vs the Unicorns this Read A New Book Month




Bishop's Stortford College Prep School librarian Lizzie Hall writes about the magic of storytelling...

Dear Reader. When you read a new book it doesn't take long for you to be swept up in a delightful world of unique and interesting characters and stories, or maybe just compelling information.

The best books guide the reader through a storyscape that builds up and shares the vision of something the author wanted to share with you.

And it is Read A New Book Month, so here are some new books out this month.

Picture books

Dogs in Disguise by Peter Bently and John Bond

"Dogs come in all kinds of colours and sizes,

But when no one's looking they put on DISGUISES."

A joyful peek into the crazy antics of all sorts of dogs in disguise!

Dressing up in clothing they find at home, these adventurous pooches blend into the crowd at all the places dogs aren't allowed, like the store, the cinema and the swimming pool.

Dogs in Disguise by Peter Bently and John Bond (51277610)
Dogs in Disguise by Peter Bently and John Bond (51277610)

But not all of their disguises go quite to plan, with hilarious results...

A Song in the Mist by Fiona Woodcock and Corinne Averiss

Chi is a panda who loves to listen.

Being silent brings sounds to her ears: the swish of bamboo, the chitter of birds. And then, one day, a new sound, gentle and sweet.

The sound leads Chi to a boy, who blows breath through a piece of bamboo. Chi is enchanted and longs to make friends, but she is shy and hides instead.

As the boy searches for Chi and mist gathers in the forest, she must find the courage to help him, even if it means being seen...

A Song in the Mist by Fiona Woodcock and Corinne Averiss (51277604)
A Song in the Mist by Fiona Woodcock and Corinne Averiss (51277604)

The Happy Hedgerow by Elena Mannion and Erin Brown

Somewhere in the folds of the countryside, Old Oak lives content and fulfilled in his hedgerow by the barley field.

When the farmer pulls up the Far Hedgerow one day, Old Oak is dismayed. Can he care for all the fleeing birds? The field is now too open, and the wind and rain are carrying away the soil.

Hope is finally returned when a new farmer comes to plant saplings one cold winter's morning.

The Happy Hedgerow by Elena Mannion and Erin Brown (51277608)
The Happy Hedgerow by Elena Mannion and Erin Brown (51277608)

Younger readers

Super Happy Magic Forest and the Deep Trouble by Matty Long

The Super Happy Magic Forest is the friendliest, most frolic-filled place in all the world, but very occasionally something comes along and disturbs the peace.

That's when our five brave heroes step up to save the day. There's Blossom the unicorn, Twinkle the pixie, Herbert the gnome, Hoofius the faun and a plucky little mushroom called Trevor.

In this adventure, the five heroes go diving for Candy Coral in Lake Sparkle and find more than they bargained for - a fishy-looking creature called Foam. It's the start of a brand-new seafaring quest!

Time for the gang to find their sea legs and set sail on an adventure to the underwater city of Fishopolis!

Super Happy Magic Forest and the Deep Trouble by Matty Long (51277606)
Super Happy Magic Forest and the Deep Trouble by Matty Long (51277606)

Kevin vs the Unicorns by Philip Reeve and Sarah McIntyre

Max and his best friend Kevin, the only roly-poly flying pony in Bumbleford, decide to enter the Magical Pony Club Steeplechase.

Kevin is not particularly keen as the other participants are all unicorns, and everybody knows that unicorns are quite snobby. But biscuits are promised, and Kevin wants to make Max proud.

As the competition heats up, our inseparable duo uncover a conspiracy to steal the precious Periwinkle Cup. Max and Kevin will have to intervene to stop the thieves and retrieve the stolen trophy.

Kevin vs the Unicorns by Philip Reeve and Sarah McIntyre (51277602)
Kevin vs the Unicorns by Philip Reeve and Sarah McIntyre (51277602)

The Secret Forest by Sandra Dieckmann

Beginning at first light with a young fawn and his mum, you'll meet foxes and butterflies, bears and bees, squirrels and birds galore – all before sun sets again and the moon rises over the trees as the night-time creatures come out to play.

What else will you see?

The Secret Forest by Sandra Dieckmann (51277612)
The Secret Forest by Sandra Dieckmann (51277612)

Older readers

The Unexpected Tale of Bastien Bonlivre by Clare Povey

Bastien Bonlivre is a boy with a big imagination who is determined to finish the story his parents started, left to him in a red notebook.

On the other side of Paris, bestselling author Olivier Odieux is struggling to complete his latest novel. Along with his villainous brothers, he is masterminding his greatest plot yet, one that will spread fear throughout the city and beyond.

What connects these two stories is a dangerous secret, a hidden mystery and an unexpected race across Paris for the truth.

Can Bastien and his friends Alice, Theo and Sami be brave enough to stop Olivier stealing the ending they deserve?

The Unexpected Tale of Bastien Bonlivre by Clare Povey (51277600)
The Unexpected Tale of Bastien Bonlivre by Clare Povey (51277600)

Blossom by Laura Dockrill and Sara Ogilvie

Blossom has grown up surrounded by the beautiful plants and flowers from her family's market stall.

The stall was started by her grandparents, Tutu and Pops, and passed on to Blossom's parents after their death.

It's a magical place where customers come to find flowers for all occasions: from celebrating love to offering comfort in times of sorrow.

But now the stall is at risk, with tension rising as Blossom's parents argue about the future.

Can Blossom call on the lessons she learned from Tutu and find a way to cope with the dramatic changes that are happening around her. Can she save the flower stall?

Blossom by Laura Dockrill and Sara Ogilvie (51277598)
Blossom by Laura Dockrill and Sara Ogilvie (51277598)

Keeper of Secrets by Sarah J Dodd

Eleven-year-old Emily doesn't think Badger Cottage - where she's had to move with her vet father after her mum died - will ever be home.

But there is something out there that needs her: a bright pair of eyes in the darkness...

Keeper of Secrets by Sarah J Dodd (51277596)
Keeper of Secrets by Sarah J Dodd (51277596)

Teens and young adults

The Hideaway by Pam Smy

The Hideaway tells the story of a boy, Billy McKenna, who runs away from a difficult situation at home and takes refuge in an overgrown graveyard.

While hiding there he meets an elderly man who is tending the graves in preparation for a day in November when something magical is set to happen.

The book is written in two alternating narratives, both different aspects of the same story. One thread tells of Billy's experience of hiding away in the graveyard, his mixed-up feelings and emotions, and the supernatural events he eventually witnesses. The other tells of his mother's situation at home and the police search for Billy.

Covering themes of family, childhood, separation and reunion, domestic violence and doing the right thing, this is an important and beautiful book for middle-grade readers right up to adults.

Billy's story is illustrated throughout with tonal and textured black and white drawings, until the event on All Souls' Eve, when the text gives way to a series of double-page images of the supernatural happenings.

The Hideaway by Pam Smy (51277590)
The Hideaway by Pam Smy (51277590)

Stay Gold by Tobly McSmith

Debut author Tobly McSmith delivers a coming-of-age teen love story about a transgender boy who's going stealth at his new Texas high school and a cisgender girl who is drawn to him, even as she's counting down the days until graduation.

Perfect for fans of David Levithan, Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han.

Stay Gold by Tobly McSmith (51277594)
Stay Gold by Tobly McSmith (51277594)

Landfill Mountains by Rab Ferguson

A must-read young adult environmental thriller steeped in folklore and community.

In a world ravaged by the effects of climate change, 16-year-old Joe has been left with nothing but mountains full of junk.

When Joe and his friends are caught in an avalanche of waste, a six-year-old girl named Lily is left deathly ill. Joe travels to the city to seek out help for her. Nothing could prepare him for what he finds on the way: a dangerous prince wearing a suit made of stars, the wolf from Red Riding Hood bearing its teeth, and the reality-changing power of storytelling aloud.

Landfill Mountains by Rab Ferguson (51277592)
Landfill Mountains by Rab Ferguson (51277592)


This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More